North Maluku Province Tourism


North Maluku Province is the destination of marine, tropical forest, incredible volcano, cultural, historical, and ancient heritage tourism. Was part of great Islamic Kingdoms in the Eastern part of Indonesia, North Maluku is an archipelago with so many things to see. The province consists of 395 islands but only 64 are inhabited. The capital is Sofifi and the biggest city is Ternate.


Cities and Regencies of North Maluku Province


North Maluku is divided into 2 cities and 8 regencies. The cities are Ternate and Tidore Islands. The regencies are Central Halmahera, South Halmahera, North Halmahera, East Halmahera, West Halmahera, Morotai Islands, Sula Islands, and Taliabu Islands.


How to Get In


North Maluku has several airports that only serve domestic flights. The main airport is Sultan Babullah Airport in Ternate that serves direct flights from/to Makassar and Manado. From Jakarta, Bali, Surabaya, Yogyakarta, and other cities, you need to transit in Makassar first and then continue to Ternate.


Popular Destinations


Ternate and Tidore Islands are destination to enjoy the magical nature and amazing historical sites. Kedaton Sultan Ternate Museum is the place to see the heritage of Ternate Sultanate. Halmahera is the biggest island in the province where the nature is pure and the history is worth to learn. Enjoy the clean white beaches and fresh air in Mamuya Mountain.